ContinuUs History

ContinuUs was the result of a two-year planning process between eight counties in Southwest Wisconsin: Crawford, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, Lafayette, Richland and Sauk. Richland County, one of the original five Family Care pilot counties, took a leadership role in the planning process utilizing the knowledge base that Richland had developed since it began operation of the Family Care program in 2001.

The county boards of each of the eight counties, authorized by statute and created by intergovernmental agreement, formed a long-term care district in 2008. The organizational meeting of the ContinuUs Board was held on June 30, 2008.

On July 1, 2008, ContinuUs began providing managed care services under contract with DHS to Richland County residents. Dates were set for expansion of Family Care services to the other seven counties in the District and occurred on the following schedule:

County Date Expansion Occurred
Sauk Spetember 1, 2008
Green January 1, 2009
Crawford July 1, 2009
Juneau July 1, 2009
Lafayette July 1, 2009
Grant April 1, 2010
Iowa April 1, 2010

Within three years of operational experience, ContinuUs has grown from serving 380 members in July 2008 to serving over 4,978 members in January 2015.